Avoid Caffeine Tobacco And Strong Drink

The Lord foresaw the situation of today when motives for money would cause men to conspire to entice others to take noxious substances into their bodies. Advertisements which promote beer, wine, liquors, coffee, tobacco, and other harmful substances are examples of what the Lord foresaw. But the most pernicious example of an evil conspiracy in our time is those who induce young people into the use of drugs.

My young brothers and sisters, in all love, we give you warning that Satan and his emissaries will strive to entice you to use harmful substances, because they well know if you partake, your spiritual powers will be inhibited and you will be in their evil power. Stay away from those places or people which would influence you to break the commandments of God.


http://lds.org/ensign/1983/05/a-principle-with-a-promise?lang=eng

This entry was posted in mormon, sobriety and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Avoid Caffeine Tobacco And Strong Drink

  1. janoklark says:

    I’m very conflicted with myself at the moment about coffee and even tea. I had a cup in the afternoon yesterday, then at night I was drinking tea at a meeting with an oil painter. I didn’t realize how much I drank, and perhaps with the one cup of coffee combined, I couldn’t sleep all night. I’ve had a strange and foggy day today. It seems so not worth it.

    It smells good and to have it in a non-addictive (non-regular way) on the occasional morning doesn’t seem too bad. It seems good for my digestion. But awake all night? What is that? That’s a drug!

    Alcohol seems much clearer to me to be haram. I literally get nauseous just at the smell of it.

  2. janoklark says:

    I have to say the choices for this blog have been very interesting and I hope you keep posting regularly, Br. Catfish.

  3. Adam McEwan says:

    I sometimes drink tea (w/o caffeine). I like the comfort-feeling associated with drinking warm beverages. I used to love, love my morning coffee back when I drank it. In fact, it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever renounced.

    I would recommend no one start drinking tea or coffee because they’re hard to give up. It is easiest and best to be naive of certian things.

Leave a Reply

